Media Advisory

Chicago Association of REALTORS® Elects 2012-13 Officers


The Chicago Association of REALTORS® (C.A.R.) Board of Directors elected the association’s 2012-13 officers at its April 4 board meeting. Elected for one-year terms beginning Oct. 1, next year’s leadership will include:

  • President: Zeke Morris, Keller Williams Realty, C.C.G. Currently C.A.R. President Elect, Morris, 57, is manager/owner of his Hyde Park brokerage, responsible for a team of 90 agents and a property management/asset management division of more than 250 units. Appointed to the C.A.R. Board of Directors in 2008, Morris also serves on the association’s Finance, Government Affairs, Transition, Political Action and Property Management committees, as well as the HB 4040 Affordable Housing Task Force.
  • President Elect: Matthew Farrell, Urban Real Estate. Broker/owner of Urban Real Estate, Farrell, 33, manages a 30-agent residential real estate company located downtown and is also co-founder and partner in a technical consulting firm, NEOUSA. At C.A.R., Farrell’s additional involvement includes chairing the Forms & Contracts Committee and membership on the Finance and Government Affairs committees. In 2010, Farrell was the first Advisory Board chair of the C.A.R. Young Professionals Network.
  • Treasurer: Hugh Rider, Realty & Mortgage Co. Rider oversees daily operations of his company’s corporate office, which manages a portfolio of approximately 3,400 units worth more than $85,000,000 and 150 staff members throughout Northern Illinois. Rider has helped Realty & Mortgage Co. successfully lease more than 1,500 new tax credit units in 15 separate projects. His additional C.A.R. involvement includes membership on the Government Affairs, Property Management, Political Action and Finance committees, as well as the Building and Land Task Force.

Also newly elected, C.A.R. 2012-13 representatives to the National Association of REALTORS® will include: Mabel Guzman, @properties; Lauren Mitrick, Newman Realty; Bob Floss, Bob Floss and Son Realty; and Wayne Caplan, Sperry Van Ness LLC.

C.A.R. 2012-13 representatives to the Illinois Association of REALTORS® will include: Zeke Morris; Matt Farrell; Hugh Rider; Bob Floss; Dan Wagner, Inland Real Estate Brokerage; Alex Chaparro, @properties; Mabel Guzman; and Genie Birch, Koenig & Strey Real Living.

The Chicago Association of REALTORS® is the “Voice for Real Estate®” in Chicago since 1883, representing nearly 11,000 members from all real estate specialties including commercial sales, development, property management, appraisal, auctions and residential sales. Visit us online at


Barbara Matthopoulos
Senior Director of Communications & Media Relations
Office: (312) 214-5511
Cell: (312) 730-4950

Meredith Morris
Senior Communications Specialist
Office: (312) 214-5536
Cell: (312) 828-5347

Related Links

Opening Doors to Opportunity and Success

200 South Michigan Avenue, Suite 400, Chicago, IL 60604
Telephone: 312-803-4900, Fax: 312-803-4905

The “Voice of Real Estate” in Chicago
© 2011 Chicago Association of REALTORS®